I’ve seen these billboards all around town for the past couple of weeks. There is a large closed eye on the left and the script “open your eyes” on the right. They are just there, and that is all that is on them. And I wondered, “what sort of religious shenanigans be these?” Because a while back, they had the infamous Franklin Graham festival, which had, actually, very well-designed billboards. Though they contained messages like “There is a hell.” Uplifting, no? 

Anyway, I assumed these billboards dealt with the same sort of subject matter. Not to say that I have anything against organized religion…but that’s a subject for another time. So I thought to myself, “these have to have a part two, otherwise they are completely meaningless.” And lo and behold, two weeks later I’m driving home and I see the same eye, only it’s open. And there is a reflection of the Knoxville Museum of Art’s logo in the iris. What a pleasant surprise that the billboards are promoting the arts! 

I don’t know about anyone else, but these billboards definitely got my attention. It was an “ooo, what’s next?” campaign. The KMA is offering free admission until the end of the year, and they want any and everyone to take advantage. 

As far as the art goes, I love the close-up of the eye and the use of white space surrounding the type. However, the type is way too small for a billboard (you can’t see it until you are right on top of it), which really hinders the message. And distracts the driver. 

But besides the art, it is the execution that I absolutely love. A+ to KMA for giving me a taste and then leaving me hanging for two weeks. 

