I’ve been in the mood to start grad school lately. After reading about theories and the creative process I have found that I am more interested in why art is made, not how. I want a program that will let me explore design in every discipline, that will allow me to formulate ideas and share them with the rest of the world. And I desperately wish to teach. I should have majored in philosophy. Because all I really want to do is sit in a group of people and discuss why art exists and how it pertains to the meaning of life.

But I digress. While looking at art schools (everything from the Royal College of Art in London to East Tennessee State University), I came across this description of West Virginia’s Graphic Design program:

“The graduate program in graphic design differs from the other fine arts in that it is a service and communications field. While aesthetics, art movements, design theory and vocabulary of the art world are similar, the end product cannot be self-serving for the artist, but must convey the message of a client in a degree of clarity or ambiguity appropriate to a subject and audience. The level of subtlety in communication has continued to rise in the last twenty years as the public has become savvy and sophisticated in translating media. This has led to an exciting diversity of approaches such that no single style dominates contemporary design. The profession of Graphic Design has continued to explode in breadth and depth of its applications until it can no longer be covered well in a single curriculum. The field now refers to design for the print industry, design for multimedia, the web, animation, overarching design of multidisciplinary projects.”

It seems as this was taken straight from Looking Closer 5. Is our field now nothing more than a service? I know what we all do is mostly done for somebody else, but I do hope that some graphic artists in the world are still making time to make art for the sake of making art. Lord knows I don’t have time, but hopefully one day I will.

