I can’t possibly go on without telling you about the most amazing book I’ve ever owned. “The Art of Looking Sideways” is about Alan Fletcher challenging everything you’ve ever thought about. It uses both sides of the brain, appealing to both the visual and textual learner. I can’t possibly describe what it is about, because it’s about so much. Mr. Fletcher himself discusses his book here. It’s the perfect coffee table book, because you can pick it up, read one page, put it down and start an amazing conversation. It’s a graphic designer’s/quote hoarder’s/useless information gatherer’s/philosopher’s dream, laid out in over 1000 pages.

I can’t recommend this book enough. I’m not even a quarter of the way through it, but every page makes my brain explode and I absolutely love it. I can’t get enough of it. And yet I have to stop every few pages to take it all in. Fletcher describes it basically as “How to get a PhD in living.” 

Recently, I read the chapter about colour and its importance to human understanding. We associate colours with different things (red-anger or lust, green-peace, white-good). Afterwards I went to the grocery store. And I spent more time than usual in the fresh produce section. I can’t tell you how happy I was to come home with bags filled with grapes, carrots, apples, oranges, lettuce and peppers. See, a wheat allergy runs in my family, so I figure it’s a good time (and excuse) to finally start eating right. And being an artist, I was overwhelmed with the colours in the large, open area housing fruits and vegetables. I feel better just looking at my food, not to mention eating it. 

It was great to eat something raw and pure. Sure, cereal boxes are colorful, and fruit snacks and ice cream. But oh the joy of biting into a pure, delicious, delectable orange! The colours we artists use in our palettes are found right at our local grocer.

And you may or may not know this already, but many of today’s raw foods look nothing like they first did when they were first created/evolved/imagined/whatever. Carrots used to be/still are all sorts of colours!

There is something to be said for looking at things in a different way. I now choose to eat foods that are beautiful.

