I can’t help it. I’m in love with movies. I quote them continuously and can never pick a favorite. I’ll try to watch anything once, but I don’t like watching comedies in the theatre. I mean, what’s all that surround sound for if not for epics and action?

The thing I love most about the movies is their advertising – trailers and movie posters. I always want to be early to a movie to hunker down and sit back for 10 full minutes of trailers. They grab my attention and tell me a story in under 3 minutes – what’s not to love?

And my ultimate goal in life is to make movie posters. Apparently these works of art are known as “key art” in the entertainment industry. It’s no wonder then that my fruitless search for how to get into that industry always led to a dead end. No more searching for “movie poster maker.”

The point to this entry is this: key art defines a movie before it’s even viewed by the public. They’ve been around forever – from Vertigo to Walk the Line, these posters invoke movie goers across the globe with a sense of wonder. 

This is what I want to do. And I want to change it all. Though who can deny the seductive pull of the movie poster font and floating heads?

So what do you think? Can you get me in? What’s your favorite piece of key art?

And PS – Sorry for the absence. I had this thing. Got married. Not really an excuse, but you know.

