impossible_is_nothingMy good friend Allie over at The Creative Career had a post earlier last year talking about how you can make your resume stand out by adding an interactive element to it. Creating a website, for example, is great for any creative to have a place where all your work, information and thoughts can reside. I’m always reading Allie’s blog and comments, and I found something interesting about a week ago on someone’s site who had commented on one of Allie’s entries – a video resume.

Apparently I’ve been out of the loop for quite some time. When I googled “video resume” I got over 3 million hits, and the first few articles I came across were all from 2006-2007. There are plenty of different opinions on this type of presentation. My favorite is this one, which has been notoriously dubbed “How NOT to Apply for a Job.” If you have time to watch it, I highly suggest it. Basically, it will completely baffle you. (And note in the youtube description, this guy submitted an 11-page resume along with his…interesting…video.)

Despite failing completely with his resume, TIME has an interesting article describing a success story in video resumes. Boy shoots film. Boy edits film. Boy posts film. Boy gets an interview. 

If you’re going to try it out, I suggest reading this article on how to make a good video resume. It may be worth a shot if you’re getting into a specific field. Say…acting? Or editing or cinematography. Something that would actually be enhanced by video. I’m not sure about any creative field. And I’m definitely sure it’s unnecessary for anyone going into the banking field. That’s why I was glad to come across a Cheezhead article about this form of resume diminishing in popularity. I’m just not impressed by the resumes I have seen. And it’s so easy to embarrass yourself while on video, versus on paper. 

The Cons of Video Resumes:

1. They are too long and sequential. In a paper resume, you can read about education before you read about work experience. In a video resume, you have to watch the whole thing, beginning to end. Once upon a time I heard that you only have 3ish seconds to catch an employer’s attention because of how many resumes they receive for any given job. I’m pretty sure most of us would lose interest in a video resume after 20 seconds unless it was funny. That is the nature of our society.

2. Paper resumes don’t allow for any discrimination up front. If I email a resume to a potential employer, they have no idea what race I am, what I look like or what kind of accent I have. That way they can make an informed decision based on my qualifications and work.

3. You have a good possibility of humiliating yourself, no matter how clean and sophisticated you might think you are. Someone, somewhere, will find something wrong with your video.

4. There are better ways to present yourself. Interactive web sites, handmade portfolios or adding something special to your paper resume (I used to add a splash of color in mine). 

5. No matter what you may think, you’ll come off cocky in a video resume. The whole point of the resume is to basically brag about what you’ve done and what you can do. On paper it’s not so bad, but seeing someone talk about all their accomplishments and how they are the best in a video is a bit too much.

I would not recommend creating a video resume, and I am a creative person who loves movies. But I also love youtube and anyone who embarrasses themselves for all the world to see.

