I have returned from my epic road trip to the Ohio Valley. I would’ve updated last night, but I was exhausted when I got home and there was a marathon of Ghost Hunters on SciFi–something I simply couldn’t miss. So here I am, in my pajamas, regaling you, the reader, with this tale.

0210090752

Blueberry...

I started out a little before 8 AM on Tuesday. After stuffing my face with a blueberry Nutrigrain bar, I headed out onto I-75. I figured I could handle 5.5 hours driving time just fine. Afterall, it takes me 10 hours to drive from Knoxville to my parents’ house in Michigan. So Indianapolis should be a breeze, right? I was wrong. About a half hour into my trip I started getting really drowsy. I had to stop at a rest area and walk around. After doing so I felt fine and got back in the car. Now I don’t know if it’s the monotony of driving on the highway for extended periods of time or the fact that I was up that morning early than I had been in months…but I was dangerously tired. I stopped for food and thought that might help. It didn’t. My eyes said “close” and my yawns were growing exponentially larger. So I finally broke down and bought caffeine pills when I had to fill my gas tank.

I’m not sure if these pills really work or if I just believe that they do, but either way I was cured. The scary, I’m-going-to-fall-asleep-driving-and-kill-myself-or-someone-else road trip had finally turned into a yeah-I’m-awake-and-having-fun road trip. Moving on.

0210091228

That bright green smudge near 0 says "CRUISE."

I was so excited when the landscape started to flatten out. I really miss the days when I could drive on the highway and use my cruise control. This wonderful feature doesn’t get any use in the hills/mountains of East Tennessee. The other thing I was excited about seeing? All the giant bridges. This meant I was crossing the Ohio River. Basically my favorite thing to see as a child in the back seat of our Dustbuster van.

I finally made it to the office I was interviewing at around 1:35 PM. I was happy to see that the office was amazing inside, because the part of town I was in was not so amazing. Every building had a giant fence around it and plenty of homeless people dotted the street corners. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not afraid of places like this. They have lots of character and make for great photography. It was just something I took notice of.

Yay Ohio River!

Yay Ohio River!

The interview went great. I feel like, in general, I talk too fast during interviews. And I totally forgot to take my nose ring out. (Note to potential employers and the rest of the world: I do have a nose ring. It’s not a bull ring or a hoop. It’s a tiny diamond in the side of my nose. And it’s removable.) Other than that, I rely on my smile and personality to get me through anything.

Then I was off to Cincinnati. Indy was great, Cincinnati is amazing. This is the town I always drive through on my way home. But I’ve never stopped or stayed in downtown. I got a great deal from Hotwire for the Hyatt. And I got a great room in the Hyatt on the top floor. I really felt throughout this whole trip that I was so incredibly awesome. And this is why:

View from the top.

View from the top.

01] I was traveling on my own. I’ve done this before with flying and driving to my parents’ house, but never to someplace new. This is cool because:

02] I am superb with directions. I didn’t get lost at any point in the trip. I credit google maps for my success.

03] I felt so urban chic, with my heels on and portfolio in hand, walking around downtown Cincinnati with every bit of confidence I contain.

So I’m really excited to be out on my own for two days. The only downside: I’m completely alone. Without my husband. It’s the first time we’ve been apart since we’ve been married. Mushy, I know, but it was depressing eating by myself, even though I had a fantastic English Club sandwich. And it was sad that I watched the Westminster Dog Show by myself. Good Lord, moving on.

Best. Sandwich. Ever.

Best. Sandwich. Ever.

Wednesday’s interview went great as well. I’m a little hesitant to get back into any corporate environment, but this place was light and airy and pleasant. And I’m always happy to see a Mac in any place I go.

Overall, I feel like the past two days was a great experience. I was able to meet some great new people and experience two wonderful cities. On my way home, I ran into a mess on I-75 and a few tornado warnings, but I didn’t fall asleep and I didn’t have to take caffeine pills. So I figure I have that going for me.

 

"Lovely day for a 4 mile backup." "Indeed."

"Lovely day for a 4 mile backup." "Indeed."

