I’d like to tell you all a little story. Here is the summary:

Girl starts blog. Girls loses job. Girls blogs about losing job. Employers read blog. Girl gets new job.

It’s basically a success story. And now I’ll elaborate.

It's Arkansas!

It's Arkansas!

Last Monday I got in my car and mentally prepared myself for the longest road trip I’ve ever taken. Google Maps said it was 10 hours and 48 minutes. I was on the road from 9 in the morning until 9 at night. Granted, if I hadn’t stopped for food, caffeine or bathroom breaks I might have made it to Arkansas in the recommended time. But that’s just way too much to ask.

But I’m moving a bit ahead of myself. A many few days ago I got an email from an HR rep for a marketing company in Arkansas. I had applied to the job because I was basically applying for anything, anywhere. And when I got this email I thought it would turn out like Omaha–who, incidentally, never called me back. It turns out not many companies are looking to hire out-of-state these days. Go figure. HOWEVER, things changed once I had this amazingly great phone interview with two of the creatives there. Turns out they’d been keeping tabs on me. They asked me how my tire/battery installer interview turned out, and would later comment that they were glad I made it with all of my issues with sleeping and driving.

Face watching me pee in middle Tennessee. Awkward..

Face watching me pee in middle Tennessee. Awkward..

So then I was brought in. Thinking all the while that, hey, okay, this is great and all, but seriously? Even all my redneck friends in Maryville said “Arkansas? Really?” And as crazy as it sounds, northwest Arkansas isn’t a bad place at all. There is lots to do. Ok, wait, getting ahead of myself again.

On Tuesday I woke up bright and early to look at apartments. Just look. One lady tried to rope me in right there. “Ok we’ll just run back and you can reserve a place with the deposit and application fee and we’ll see you in March!” Whoa there smiley face McGee. Let’s not rush things. Incidentally, after this viewing I was rushing to get to my interview. And was pulled over by a very gracious Bentonville cop who let me off with a warning. I was going 42 in a 25. Story: I was going about that speed in a 35 in Knoxville last year and got a $100 ticket and had to appear in court. Knoxville – 0, Arkansas – 1.

Moving on. I finally made it to the interview. Filled out an application and went out to lunch. A great lunch. One where I felt like I was eating shoup with Artie and John only it was Italian and there were no crosswords. Basically, I felt incredibly comfortable and welcome. Which is a new experience for me. At an interview, anyway.

Do you see the name of this gas station? NO THANKS.

Do you see the name of this gas station? NO THANKS.

So get this: I was at the office for 4 hours. FOUR! And it flew by. And when I got back to the hotel room I got a call from my HR contact and she offered me a job. And THEN I went out for a drink with these folks. Arkansas – 1 Billion, Knoxville – negative 2 trillion.

So that’s it. After three weeks of being unemployed, I accepted a job offer in Northwest Arkansas. My husband, my corgi mix, my spaniel/golden mix and I will be there in 2 weeks. It’s crazy and scary and overwhelming. But it’s also incredibly amazing and exciting as well. It’s no Chicago or DC or Cincinnati or Indianapolis. But it’s got mountains and trees and rivers and lakes. And it’s all pretty much brand new. Only bad thing is that it’s a dry county. Guess we’ll be heading to “The Line” as soon as we move in to stock up…

Ah, the end of an unemployed era.

Ah, the end of an unemployed era.

So I guess I’m done with this series. I still can’t believe it. I’ll actually have to write about academic design crap again. Thomas and I are starting a video blog about our adventures there. You can see a teaser here.Ā 

Thanks to all.

