Courtesy of Earth Hour's Flickr Group

Courtesy of Earth Hour's Flickr Group

A friend of mine brought to my attention that Earth Hour is tonight. Something I have always planned to do and am now really going to follow through. So needless to say I was grateful for the reminder. So tonight at 830 PM central time, my husband and I will be turning off our lights. We’ll light candles around the house and play cards or read or (I really wish) take a nap.

While researching any sort of event (movie, inauguration, food-eating contest), I always go to the “Downloads” section of the event’s website to see what sort of design they are letting the people have. I was not disappointed when I went to Earth Hour’s home on the web.

These beautiful posters are just more in a long line of the current poster trend – a throwback to letterpress technique. Big, bold type surrounds a single image using a two-color palette. My favorite is the one using the globe as the “o” in “VOTE!” While I’m not a big fan of the actual globe (it’s a bit too complex…why include all the navigational lines? It seems to have too much detail for the simplicity of the poster…), I love the blue and the green chosen and am a big fan of the starburst in the background. But what can I say? I am a sucker for a vintage starburst.

Quite a different message, wouldn't you say?

Quite a different message, wouldn't you say?

I tried to find out more about the person/persons responsible for the posters. In the flickr set, they are credited to Shepard Fairey, creator of the infamous “HOPE” Obama poster. Upon researching him, I found the website Obey Giant. Fairey has been taking famous images throughout history and “plagiarizing” them to convey new messages. My favorite one I saw actually deals with a poster from my previous post about National Parks. It’s interesting to see how an artist can distort original images into something that still makes complete sense.

