488748172_739bf80f25_m

Image by jonathanpberger via creative commons license

My Amazon wish list has grown exponentially in the past week. All because of that page that pops up after you add one thing to your list – other recommendations. Gets me every time. The books below, I’ve noticed, help sum up who I am as a designer and what I love. There are two sides to my design life: the aesthetic me, who loves to look at pictures, and the metaphysical me who wants to find meaning in what I do.

 

 

 

First, books to satisfy my mind:

100habits

100 Habits of Successful Graphic Designers

Who wouldn’t like to know how to be more successful in this field? 

 

 

 

 

 

 

briefcase

Never Sleep: Graduating to Graphic Design

“There is a major disconnect between the life of a design student and the transition to being a design professional. To demystify the transition, we share the failures, successes, and surprises during our years in college and progression into the field…”

 

 

 

 

 

lookbothways

Look Both Ways: Illustrated Essays on the Intersection of Life and Design

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

women

Women Of Design: Influence And Inspiration From The Original Trailblazers To The New Groundbreakers

To appeal to my feminist side:

“More than half of the graphic designers in the U.S. are women, yet they are less likely to be invited to speak at conferences or to offer expert opinions to the media. Their award-winning work is seen everywhere, but with few exceptions, they are not celebrated in the same way as their male counterparts. Women of Design explores this contradiction while at the same time shining a light on the work of women designers, both industry veterans and influential newcomers.”

Eye candy:

posterswpa

Posters for the People: The Art of the WPA

I don’t even own it yet, but I know for a fact it will be the best book ever.

 

 

 

 

 

 

artmodernposter

Art of the Modern Movie Poster: International Postwar Style and Design

 

 

 

 

 

 

moderndog

Modern Dog: 20 Years of Poster Art

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

mastersposter

New Master’s of Poster Design: Poster Design for the Next Century 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Something to satisfy a little of both:

thingslearned

Things I have learned in my life so far

 

 

 

 

 

 

Something to satisfy my crafty side (as in, always-intend-to-be-crafty-but-never-have-the-time):

indie

Indie Publishing: How to Design and Publish Your Own Book 

I’m always look for more to add to my wish list, so if you have any suggestions let me know!

