I’ve realized these past few years that I basically have two styles that I love to incorporate within my designs:

01] The modern look. I love Helvetica Neue (Thin), 0.5 pt lines, light gray and lots and lots of white space.

02] The vintage style. This includes both the WPA poster style and letterpress look. I love this kind of stuff. This is the art that I collect. The inspiration that I look for and drool over when I find it. Living in East Tennessee and having connections with Nashville, I’ve been fortunate enough to experience two amazing letterpress shops – YeeHaw Industries in Knoxville and Hatch Show Print in Nashville. Both shops have traveling exhibits right now which I highly recommend you check out.

I love that this handcrafted workmanship has come back in style. It’s not just about a mouse and Photoshop anymore, it’s about getting dirty and slicing fingers and taking pride in your work.

A sampling of YeeHaw’s work:

il_fullxfull.94313523

il_430xN.94280875il_430xN.85001604And Hatch:

Hatch Smithsonian Poster 2_lrgcoffee_largerogersml_largeFind YeeHaw’s Etsy shop here. Buy prints from Hatch here.

