Explore my side projects and work using this link

Upsidedown is a WordPress theme design that brings blog posts rising above inverted header and footer components.

7 Cool Tattoo Designs

Written in

by

I’ve been thinking (again) about getting a tattoo. I decided to look for inspiration around the internet and found a great gallery over at Inked, the online site for the magazine. I’m the kind of person who isn’t impressed with colorful and intricate coy fish on your arm, nor do I care about a flaming skull covering your entire back. I want to be impressed with your tattoo. What did you do that is different? The tattoos in this post have made an impression on me because of the techniques used and their interaction with the body (something I will strive for if I ever get a tattoo).meaganstattoobybretcopy_1224349470

I am a sucker for anything with that much detail and symmetry. The steadiness it had to take to get those lines that perfect and thin had to have been crazy amazing.

img_0125_1213926633

Interesting way to place text on your body.

200829721739_1225384637

This one caught my eye because of everything else around it. All this guy’s tattoos are two-dimensional. Then BAM! You almost think there is a giant spider crawling across his body. Very impressive.

amazing_tattoo_1213801780

ESCHER! Now THAT is cool. Every time you look at this guy from the back, you see yourself as an old man. What does that say about life? Art?

spiderman2_12248647981

This is literally the most amazing tattoo I’ve ever seen in my life. I’ve seen lots of underneath-the-skin-tattoos (see above with the text), but nothing like this. It is the most realistic ripping of the skin ever. Props to this artist for making the coolest tattoo on the freaking planet. And props to the canvas.

And as a last note, this:

tattoo-2

Wrong in so many ways. But awesome nonetheless.

Tags

10 responses to “7 Cool Tattoo Designs”

  1. Allie Osmar Avatar

    LOL I’m still laughing at the last one. Spiderman is pretty amazing though. Where might you consider getting said tattoo?

  2. Pounded Ink Avatar

    I really dig the spider, not the spiderman (although that’s a pretty amazing tattoo) but the accents on the spider which I think is on an elbow is pretty amazing.

  3. asteijk Avatar
    asteijk

    the spider rullz and escher tattoo also

  4. John Avatar

    Hi Stephanie,

    Just wanted to thank you for the kind words on my work. I am the tattoo artist that did the 3D spider you liked. Have a great day!!

    John Sweeney
    http://www.hardknoxtattoo.com
    Yonkers, NY

  5. NAP Avatar
    NAP

    The Escher one is INSANE!!!!!!!!!
    I cant even understand how the artist was able to replicate it so exactly when its such a difficult perspective! Its amazing that he was able to do it considering escher’s work is mathamatically perfect!

  6. shilmitsza sillver Avatar

    the most awsome tatoos ever. But didnt it hert like hell?

  7. nicole Avatar
    nicole

    I love the escher one!!! I have always been a big fan of this piece of art.

  8. cybernac Avatar

    Haven’t gotten one yet…waiting for my 50th birthday just like my momma did!

  9. tattoo melbourne fl Avatar

    very cool. the cat is just funny, I would never have that on my body! 🙂

  10. tattoo Avatar

    The designs are typically symmetrical, one of the reasons
    why they’re fairly easy to draw. Popular Sleeve Tattoo Designs: Of course your tattoo needs to be individual and unique to you so these are just some suggestions of ideas that have been done often and make great full sleeve tattoo designs. Then again, you can also go for the Marqueson tribal tattoo designs.

Leave a comment